Depeche Mode.
Depeche Mode is an English techno and
rock band formed in 1980, in Basildon,
Essex. The group's original line-up
consisted of Dave Gahan (lead vocals),
Martin Gore (keyboards, guitar, vocals,
chief songwriter after 1981), Andrew
Fletcher (keyboards) and Vince Clarke
(keyboards, chief songwriter 1980-81).
Vince Clarke left the band after the
release of their 1981 debut album,
Speak & Spell, and was replaced by Alan
Wilder (keyboards, drums) with Gore
taking over songwriting. Wilder left the
band in 1995 and since then Gahan,
Gore, and Fletcher have continued as a
trio. One of the most influential groups
over the last 30 years, Depeche Mode
have inspired generations of new
musicians while consolidating their
considerable reputation. In the process
they have sold over 100 million records
and played to audiences in excess of 30
million. Depeche Mode influenced many
of today's popular recording artists, in
part due to their recording techniques
and innovative use of sampling. For
example, Pet Shop Boys cited Violator
(and "Enjoy the Silence" in particular) as
one of the main sources of inspiration
during recording of their critically
acclaimed album Behaviour. Well-known
techno pioneers Derrick May, Kevin
Saunderson and Juan Atkins regularly
cited Depeche Mode as an influence on
the development of techno music during
the Detroit Techno explosion in the mid
1980s. Appreciation of Depeche Mode
within today's electronic music scene is
shown by the numerous Depeche Mode
remixes by contemporary DJs such as
Ricardo Villalobos' remix of "The Sinner
in Me" or Kruder & Dorfmeister's remix
of "Useless".